County Commissioners


  • 9 am
  • Every Monday of each month
  • Commission Chambers
    Basement Meeting Rooms
    Coffey County Courthouse
    110 S 6th Street
    Burlington, KS 66839

County Commissioners

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


The Coffey County Board of Commissioners is a five-person elected body that has overall responsibility for county government, setting policy and performing executive and legislative functions. The County is partitioned into five separate districts of nearly equal population, based upon census numbers. One Member is elected from each district. County Commissioners must be qualified electors of the County and must reside in the district from which they are elected throughout their term in office. Commissioners serve four year terms, with three of the five commissioners being elected in the same year, and the other two commissioners elected two years later. Commission terms begin the second Monday in January after the election.

Tom Hugunin
District 1

Tom Hugunin

Tom Hugunin Biography

Don Meats
District 2

Don Meats

Don Meats Biography

Jesse Knight
District 2

Jesse Knight

Jesse Knight Biography

Steve McCurry
District 4

Steve McCurry

Steve McCurry Biography

Wayde Thomsen
District 5

Wayde Thomsen

Wayde Thomsen Biography


The Commission strives to strengthen and preserve the health, safety, and welfare of the public. It has exclusive powers to enact, amend, and repeal public policies, to levy and apportion taxes, make appropriations, adopt budgets, and to appoint certain offices and boards.

Coffey County Commission Districts (PDF)


It is the mission of Coffey County Government to cost-effectively provide mandatory and discretionary services in a manner to meet the needs of Coffey County citizens with respect and integrity as follows:

  • Provide a standard of excellence in service
  • Promote and encourage a professional, responsive, direct, and courteous business atmosphere when dealing with the public and fellow employees
  • Conduct business in a courteous, timely and efficient manner
  • Provide a safe secure workplace for employees and the public to conduct business
  • Provide the highest standard of fiduciary and professional care
  • Comply strictly and fairly with the laws of the state of Kansas

To Contact the Board

Contact Coffey County Clerk's Office.

Policy & Procedures Manual

Review the current edition of the Policy and Procedure Manual (PDF) for Coffey County employees.


Since the revision dated August 1, 2017, some sections have required amendments. These Policy and Procedure Manual Amendments (PDF) have been incorporated into the current Policy and Procedure Manual.