You are here

Overview

SERVICES PROVIDED BY COFFEY COUNTY TREASURER'S OFFICE

  • Billing and collection of real estate, personal property, 16-20 M trucks, oil and gas, and utility taxes.
  • Distribution of tax monies to taxing units.
  • Provide tax information to taxpayers, real estate agents, abstracters etc.
  • Titling and/or registering a vehicle.

DRIVERS LICENSE NOW AT THE TREASURER'S OFFICE

  • WEDNESDAY - 8:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. & 12:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Testing stops at 3:30 p.m. 

               CDL, CONCEAL CARRY, OUT OF STATE, FIRST TIME DRIVERS, ALL PERMITS, REGISTERED OFFENDERS AND

               NEW IDENTIFICATION CARDS

  • TUESDAY, THURSDAY and FRIDAY - 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

              Kansas Class C Renewals, Replacements, Address Changes in State of

              Kansas DL, and ID Cards

BILLING AND COLLECTION OF REAL ESTATE, PERSONAL PROPERTY, 16-20 M TRUCKS, OIL AND GAS, AND UTILITY TAXES

Statements for real estate, personal property, 16-20 M trucks, oil and gas, and utility tax are mailed in early November.

REAL ESTATE AND UTILITY TAX

  • Full or half tax due December 20. If the first half is not paid on or before December 20, interest will be added.
  • Second half due May 10.
  • Real estate and utility tax unpaid August 1 will be advertised in the official newspaper and $16.00 advertising fee added.
  • If unpaid on first Tuesday in September, the tax becomes a lien against the property.

PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX, 16 and 20 M TRUCKS, AND OIL AND GAS TAX

  • Full or half tax due December 20. If the first half is not paid on or before December 20, the full amount becomes due with interest. If unpaid after January 1 and on or before March 6, it shall become a warrant for collection by the Coffey County Sheriff.
  • Second half tax due May 10, and thereafter, if unpaid will draw interest. If second half is delinquent on June 14, it shall become a warrant for collection by the Coffey County Sheriff.
  • All personal property, 16 and 20 M trucks, and oil and gas tax remaining unpaid on October 1, will be advertised and a $16.00 advertising fee added. The tax, interest, and all fees will be entered in District Court as a judgement, and shall become a lien upon real estate owned by the delinquent taxpayer.

DISTRIBUTION OF TAX MONIES TO TAXING UNITS

Tax monies will be available to the taxing units on or near the following dates:

  • January 20
  • March 20
  • June 5
  • September 20
  • October 31

TITLING A VEHICLE

Application for certificate of title and registration must be made through the County Treasurer's Office in the county of residence. To avoid penalty, vehicle registration must be made within 60 days from vehicle purchase, or if moving into Kansas, 90 days after establishing residency.

Required vehicle information to be presented to Coffey County Treasurer's Office:

Titling a new vehicle:

  1. Properly signed title.
  2. If the title is an out of state title, a VIN inspection is required. Inspection may be obtained from the Burlington City Police or the Kansas Highway Patrol.
  3. Acceptable proof of insurance. This includes the following:
    • Certificate of insurance (policy)
    • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (it must show the vehicle identification number and/or make & year of vehicle, policy number, name of the insured and the effective and expiration date of the policy)
    • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner
    • Binder of insurance
    • Motor carrier ID number issued by the state corporation commission
    • A fleet policy
    • A commercial policy
  4. Sales Tax receipt, if Kansas Dealer. If not, a bill of sale required if amount of sale is not on back of title and County will collect sales tax.
  5. Title application must be signed by the new owner.

Titling a new vehicle:

  1. Properly signed manufacturer's statement of origin (MSO).
  2. Acceptable proof of insurance. This includes the following:
    • Certificate of insurance (policy)
    • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (it must show the vehicle identification number and/or make & year of vehicle, policy number, name of the insured and the effective and expiration date of the policy
    • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner
    • Binder of insurance
    • Motor carrier ID number issued by the state corporation commission
    • A fleet policy
    • A commercial policy
  3. Sales Tax receipt, if Kansas Dealer. If out of state dealer, County will collect tax, and a bill of sale or invoice is required.
  4. Title application must be signed by the new owner.

Transfer of license plate:

  1. Title or MSO and other forms as required for titling a new or used vehicle.
  2. Current registration receipt.
  3. Previous vehicle must be sold or traded within 60 days of new purchase.
  4. Name of buyer and sale date of previous vehicle.
  5. Assignment of name on new title must match name on previous vehicle registration.

E-Titles:

Beginning January 1, 2003, the Kansas Motor Vehicle Department began holding titles in an electronic format when there is a lien on the vehicle. When the lien is paid in full, the owner may bring a notarized lien release to the county treasurer's office and a title will be printed and sent to the owner. Some lienholders have the capability to release them electronically. Therefore, the owner needs to ask the lienholder if they will release the lien electronically, or if they will have to go through the county treasurer's office.

The above may not cover all situations. Other circumstances may cause the necessity for additional documents. Contact the Coffey County Treasurer's Office for more information.

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEES:

Title fee:
Transfer fee:

Registration:
  Autos less than 4500 lbs     
  Autos over 4500 lbs
  12 M Trucks
  Motorcycles
  Motorbikes

Trailers:
  2,000-8,000*
  8,001-12,000
  12,001 and over
  $10.00
  $10.50


  $39.00
  $49.00
  $49.00
  $25.00
  $20.00


  $34.00
  $44.00
  $54.00
  • If the weight of the trailer and the load combined is less than 2,000 pounds, registration is optional.
  • If farm trailer, hauling the farmers own products, has a load of less than 6,000 pounds, registration is optional.
  • For fees on trucks with gross weight of over 16,000 pounds, call the County Treasurer's office.

Property tax paid at time of registration/title application (exceptions Heavy Trucks, Trailers and Motorbikes). Call the Appraiser's Office for an estimate, 620-364-8426 or 1-800-947-5351.

State Sales Tax when applicable: 6.5% if purchased in Coffey County with the exceptions of the City of Burlington at 8.5%, the City of Lebo at 7.5%, and the City of LeRoy at 7.5%. If purchased in county or city with local sales tax, the Treasurer's Office must collect that also.


Webpage last updated:  2017-02-24 09:41:19

Contact Information

Karen Maley, Treasurer

County Treasurer
Coffey County Courthouse
110 S 6th St, Room 203
Burlington, KS 66839

Telephone: 620-364-5532 or 800-824-4983

Fax: 620-364-8975

kmaley@coffeycountyks.org

Hours: Motor Vehicle Department Hours:
Mon. - Fri., 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


Driver's License Days and Hours:
Closed every Monday Statewide
Wednesday, 8:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. &
12:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Testing stops at 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Wednesday - Full Service for CDL,
Concealed Carry, Out of State,
First Time Drivers, All Permits,
Registered Offenders, and
New Identification Cards

Tuesday, Thursday, Friday -
Kansas Class C renewals,
Identification Card renewals
and address changes