You are here

Business Climate / Business Growth

Coffey County is an ideal location for business start-ups and/or relocations. Our central location can add as much as 5 hours communication time per weekday and allow you to ship materials and goods or travel to either coast, easily and economically.

Coffey County includes the cities of Burlington (the county seat), Gridley, Lebo, LeRoy, New Strawn, and Waverly. Cooperative government working together with business, civic leaders, local, state and regional economic development organizations, enhances Coffey County Economic Development as a resource providing assisting to new and existing businesses.


Government Coffey County City of Burlington
Type Commissioners (5) Mayor/Council
Zoning Regulations Yes Yes
Planning Commission Yes Yes
Police Department 7 Full Time
Sheriff Patrol 13 Full Time
Fire Department 157 Volunteer
Fire Insurance Rating 5/9 5


Webpage last updated:  2016-11-02 14:59:17

Contact Information

Stacy Haines, Director

Economic Development
Coffey County Courthouse
110 S 6th St., Room 5
Burlington, KS 66839

Telephone: 620-364-8780 or 800-947-4796

Fax: 620-364-3608
Hours: Mon - Fri, 8 am - 5 pm