You are here

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I file for a Homestead and Food Sales Tax refund?

The Coffey County Clerk's Office can help you prepare the forms that you must file with the Kansas Department of Revenue to receive these tax refunds. To find out if you qualify for these refunds, please inquire at the Coffey County Clerk's Office. Partial qualification are: you must have been a Kansas resident for the entire year, and your total household income must be less than $32,400 for a homestead tax refund, or your total household income must be less than $36,700 for a food sales tax refund. You must also have owned your home or rented and occupied your homestead, or lived in a nursing home upon which general property taxes were assessed. Your claim for a refund of taxes must be made by April 15 of the following year.

How do I get a marriage license?

Contact the Clerk of the District Court at 620-364-8628.

How do I get a copy of a birth certificate?

Kansas birth certificates are available at the Department of Vital Statistic's at 785-296-1400, in Topeka. The Coffey County Museum has birth records available for the years 1892 through 1910.

How do I register a boat?

You need to pick up an application for Certificate of Number Kansas Boating Act Form from the County Clerk's Office. Complete the application and send it to the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism and they will register your boat and issue you your KA number. For additional information, contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism at 620-672-5911 or visit www.ksoutdoors.com.

How do I get a fishing license?

Fishing licenses are available through the County Clerk's Office. For additional information, contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism at 620-672-5911 or visit www.ksoutdoors.com.

How do I get a hunting license?

Hunting licenses are available through the County Clerk's Office. For additional information, contact the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks & Tourism at 620-672-5911 or visit www.ksoutdoors.com.

I just started a new business, what do I need to do?

There may be special permits or licenses necessary for your business. In general, all businesses should check the zoning in their area. In addition, it is important to file a personal property rendition with the County Appraiser's Office for all business related property. Sales tax questions should be directed to the Kansas Department of Revenue at 785-368-8222 or email tac@kdor.ks.gov.


Webpage last updated:  2016-06-17 16:19:15

Contact Information

Angie Kirchner, County Clerk

Coffey County Courthouse
110 S 6th St, Room 202
Burlington, KS 66839

Telephone: 620-364-2191 or 800-947-4811
Fax: 620-364-8975

AngieK@coffeycountyks.org

Hours: Mon - Fri, 8 am - 5 pm